Emergency Recovery Plan

In March, a fire at the data center of the French cloud infrastructure company OVH disrupted, and in some cases destroyed, the services of many companies. Some customers lost data. To protect customer data and ensure high availability of our service, Teamwire has emergency recovery plans in place for such scenarios.

Teamwire, Jul 21 2021

What to do when a disaster like a server data center fire happens? Expose yourself as a company powerless to fate? Nowadays, you have to be prepared for critical events and escalations, as now in the case of the OVH data center fire.

 

Many websites, software providers, Internet companies, banking services, government portals, e-commerce stores and other providers that were operated via this data center were offline for hours or even days due to the damage. Worse still, in some cases there was major data loss. And apparently some data center customers had lost data because they had not set up backups. Due to a lack of emergency recovery plans on the part of customers, some services were still not fully back online weeks after the incident.

 

What exactly is an Emergency Recovery Plan?

 

The goal of an emergency recovery plan is to ensure that a disaster or other emergency affecting information systems can be responded to quickly and the impact on business operations minimized.

 

The Teamwire Emergency Recovery Plan

 

Below, we want to provide an overview of how we protect customer data from our Teamwire business messenger and ensure the availability of our cloud services in the event of such an escalation level:

 

Premium data center

 

  • The servers for our cloud are located in a premium data center provider in Germany. The data center is ISO27001 certified and is built as a resilient data center infrastructure with independent zones.
  • Internal as well as external security audits take place in the data center in order to identify potential weaknesses and continuously improve the system.
  • All staff of the data center is regularly trained and action plans are in place for emergency situations.
  • The data center does internal backups of the servers in a different zone and in another data center in a different location. In addition the data center does have a recovery concept to ensure quick restoration of servers.
  • There are emergency power supplies in place to ensure continuous operations of servers in case of incidents.
  • The data center has different fire zones that are structurally separated. Each zone has an individual fire extinguishing system for immediate fire suppression.
  • The criticality of earthquakes and floodings of the data center has been evaluated according to DIN norms.
  • Needless to say there are many more measures in place to ensure IT security, data protection and GDPR.

 

Regular backups in different data centers

 

  • Our data center does a lot to protect data and ensure availability of our cloud. However, we don’t want to be dependent on a data center and in the worst case we want to have backups of our own. Therefore in addition to the data center we as Teamwire do our own backups.
  • First of all our German cloud is based on a cluster setup of servers that are constantly synchronised. That means in the case that one machine would fail, another machine would instantly take over. With the cluster server we can ensure high availability of our German cloud.
  • In addition we do hourly backups of all server databases of the German cloud in a separated zone of the data center.
  • Furthermore, we do daily backups of all server databases of the German cloud in another German data center in another region.

 

Emergency recovery protocol

 

  • All the above measures protect data and ensure full availability in cases of incidents like machine failures, network problems or smaller fires.
  • For a worst case like a full data center failure (e.g. destruction of the facility like the OVH case) we have an emergency recovery protocol in place to set up our German cloud in an alternative data center within 2 hours.
  • The emergency recovery protocol handles all required steps to re-install the services, restore databases and assets and quickly start the alternative cloud environment. It describes clear instructions and all tasks (incl. commands) by devops and support.
  • The emergency recovery protocol also takes care of all internal communications in order to ensure organisational alignment and maximum speed. As well as the external information to customers and partners is described in order to ensure business continuity and transparency.

 

Switch to alternative data center

 

With these security measures and our emergency recovery protocol in place we could very quickly switch to an alternative data center in Germany for our cloud. That means in such a worst case scenario our customers would only experience a minimal downtime.

 

Include security as the biggest factor

 

As powerless as a data center customer can be at such a moment, it is even more important for us to provide the best possible protection for our own customer base. We cannot give a 100% guarantee that such a scenario will never happen. The probability is very low, but not impossible. And that is exactly why we have developed the Teamwire Emergency Recovery Plan for our customers.

 

We are here for you!

 

Would you like to learn more about Teamwire’s security and Emergency Recovery Plan? Then contact our sales team. Our sales colleagues will be able to tell you, both as an existing customer and as a (potential) new customer, exactly what security measures are in place.

Related Reads

Thought Leadership

Secure WhatsApp Alternative for Enterprises and the Public Sector

Currently many large enterprises, small and medium businesses as well as the public sector look for a secure WhatsApp alternative (e.g. Teamwire) for their organization.

Security

The New Terms of WhatsApp and the Consequences for Businesses

Recently Whatsapp announced an update of its terms and privacy policy, and made several significant changes that were kind expected since the acquisition of Whatsapp by Facebook in 2014.

Security

WhatsApp Ban in the Enterprise: GDPR-Compliant Messaging Apps, Alternatives and Solutions

The use of WhatsApp as part of shadow IT is very common in enterprises. This actually affects every industry, sector and function as well as the entire public sector.

Emergency Recovery Plan

Im März hat ein Brand im Rechenzentrum der französischen Cloud-Infrastrukturfirma OVH die Dienste vieler Unternehmen gestört, teils sogar zerstört. Einige Kunden haben Daten verloren. Um Kundendaten zu schützen und eine Hochverfügbarkeit unseres Dienstes sicherzustellen, gibt es bei Teamwire für solche Szenarien Emergency Recovery Pläne.

Teamwire, Jul 21 2021

Was tun, wenn eine Katastrophe wie ein Brand in einem Server-Rechenzentrum passiert? Sich als Unternehmen machtlos dem Schicksal aussetzen? Heutzutage muss man auf kritische Ereignisse und Eskalationen vorbereitet sein, wie nun auch in dem Fall des Brands der OVH Rechenzentren.

 

Viele Websites, Softwareanbieter, Internetfirmen, Bankdienste, Behördenportale, E-Commerce-Shops und andere Anbieter, die über dieses Rechenzentrum betrieben wurden, waren aufgrund des Schadens stunden- oder sogar tagelang offline. Schlimmer noch: In einigen Fällen kam es zu großen Datenverlusten. Und offenbar hatten einige Rechenzentrums-Kunden offenbar Daten verloren, weil sie keine Backups eingerichtet hatten. Aufgrund fehlender Emergency-Recovery-Pläne seitens der Kunden waren einige Dienste auch Wochen nach dem Vorfall noch nicht wieder vollständig online.

 

Was genau ist ein Emergency Recovery Plan?

 

Das Ziel eines Notfallwiederherstellungsplans – Emergency Recovery Plan – ist es, sicherzustellen, dass auf eine Katastrophe oder einen anderen Notfall, der Informationssysteme betrifft, schnell reagiert und die Auswirkungen auf den Geschäftsbetrieb minimiert werden können.

 

Der Teamwire Emergency Recovery Plan

 

Im Folgenden wollen wir einen Überblick geben, wie wir die Kundendaten von unserem Business Messenger Teamwire schützen und die Verfügbarkeit unserer Cloud-Dienste im Falle einer solchen Eskalationsstufe sicherstellen:

 

Premium-Rechenzentrum

 

  • Die Server für unsere Cloud stehen bei einem Premium-Rechenzentrumsanbieter in Deutschland. Das Rechenzentrum ist nach ISO27001 zertifiziert und als ausfallsichere Rechenzentrumsinfrastruktur mit unabhängigen Zonen aufgebaut.
  • Im Rechenzentrum finden sowohl interne als auch externe Sicherheitsaudits statt, um mögliche Schwachstellen zu identifizieren und das System kontinuierlich zu verbessern.
  • Alle Mitarbeiter des Rechenzentrums werden regelmäßig geschult und es gibt Aktionspläne für Notfallsituationen.
  • Das Rechenzentrum führt interne Backups der Server in einer anderen Zone und in einem anderen Rechenzentrum an einem anderen Standort durch. Darüber hinaus verfügt das Rechenzentrum über ein Recovery-Konzept, um eine schnelle Wiederherstellung der Server zu gewährleisten.
  • Es sind Notstromversorgungen vorhanden, um den kontinuierlichen Betrieb der Server im Störungsfall zu gewährleisten.
  • Das Rechenzentrum verfügt über verschiedene Brandabschnitte, die baulich voneinander getrennt sind. Jede Zone verfügt über eine eigene Feuerlöschanlage zur sofortigen Brandbekämpfung.
  • Die Gefährdung des Rechenzentrums durch Erdbeben und Überschwemmungen ist nach DIN-Normen bewertet worden.
  • Natürlich gibt es noch viele weitere Maßnahmen, um IT-Sicherheit, Datenschutz und DSGVO zu gewährleisten.

 

Regelmäßige Backups in verschiedenen Rechenzentren

 

  • Unser Rechenzentrum tut viel, um Daten zu schützen und die Verfügbarkeit unserer Cloud zu gewährleisten. Wir wollen aber nicht von einem Rechenzentrum abhängig sein und im schlimmsten Fall eigene Backups haben. Deshalb machen wir als Teamwire zusätzlich zum Rechenzentrum eigene Backups.
  • Zunächst einmal basiert unsere deutsche Cloud auf einem Cluster-Setup von Servern, die ständig synchronisiert werden. Das bedeutet, dass im Falle des Ausfalls einer Maschine sofort eine andere Maschine einspringt. Mit dem Clusterserver können wir eine hohe Verfügbarkeit unserer deutschen Cloud sicherstellen.
  • Zusätzlich machen wir stündliche Backups aller Serverdatenbanken der deutschen Cloud in einer separaten Zone des Rechenzentrums.
  • Außerdem machen wir tägliche Backups aller Serverdatenbanken der deutschen Cloud in einem anderen deutschen Rechenzentrum in einer anderen Region.

 

     Notfall-Wiederherstellungsprotokoll

 

  • Alle oben genannten Maßnahmen schützen die Daten und gewährleisten die volle Verfügbarkeit bei Zwischenfällen wie Maschinenausfällen, Netzwerkproblemen oder kleineren Bränden.
  • Für den schlimmsten Fall eines kompletten Rechenzentrumsausfalls (z.B. Zerstörung der Anlage wie im Fall OVH) haben wir ein Notfallwiederherstellungsprotokoll eingerichtet, um unsere deutsche Cloud innerhalb von 2 Stunden in einem alternativen Rechenzentrum einzurichten.
  • Das Notfall-Wiederherstellungsprotokoll regelt alle erforderlichen Schritte, um die Dienste neu zu installieren, Datenbanken und Assets wiederherzustellen und die alternative Cloud-Umgebung schnell zu starten. Es beschreibt klare Anweisungen und alle Aufgaben (inkl. Commands) von Devops und Support.
  • Das Notfallwiederherstellungsprotokoll kümmert sich auch um die gesamte interne Kommunikation, um die organisatorische Abstimmung und maximale Geschwindigkeit zu gewährleisten. Auch die externe Information an Kunden und Partner wird beschrieben, um Business Continuity und Transparenz zu gewährleisten.

 

Wechsel zu einem alternativen Rechenzentrum

 

Mit diesen Sicherheitsmaßnahmen und unserem Notfallwiederherstellungsprotokoll könnten wir sehr schnell auf ein alternatives Rechenzentrum in Deutschland für unsere Cloud umschalten. Das bedeutet, dass unsere Kunden in einem solchen Worst-Case-Szenario nur eine minimale Ausfallzeit erleben würden.

 

Die Sicherheit als größten Faktor mit einbeziehen

 

So machtlos man als Kunde bei einem Rechenzentrum in solch einem Moment sein kann, um so wichtiger ist es für uns die bestmögliche Absicherung für unseren eigenen Kundenstamm zu bieten     . Wir können keine 100-prozentige Garantie geben, dass solch ein Szenario nie stattfinden wird. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit ist sehr gering, aber nicht unmöglich. Und genau aus diesem Grund haben wir für unsere Kunden den Teamwire Emergency Recovery Plan entwickelt.

 

Wir sind für Sie da!

 

Sie möchten mehr über das Thema Sicherheit bei und den Emergency Recovery Plan von Teamwire erfahren? Dann kontaktieren Sie unser Sales-Team. Unsere Sales-Kollegen können Ihnen sowohl als Bestandskunde und (potentiellen) Neukunde die genauen Sicherheitsvorkehrungen schildern.

 

Related Reads